Putting Down Roots


and I’ve also got heart sparkles for gardening
October 6, 2010, 7:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I got to go to a presentation that Nathan gave at the senior center about starting a fall garden. We hauled in a bag of compost, and a little 2′ x 2′ raised bed made out of lumber (y’all know what a raised bed is, right? It’s an enclosure made out of something–usually 2”x10” lumber boards–that you plant a garden in, so it’s raised off the ground and can be filled with good compost), and a bunch of plants and non-chemical pesticides and seeds and home-canned food. Nathan talked to the crowd (maybe 120 folks?) about food, and their early memories of eating and growing food, and then he launched into a basic description of how to grow it, and what grows well during this time of year. (That’s right: fall is the perfect time to start a garden if you’re in Florida, which is a further indicator that I live in a tropical jungle).

And you know that fluttery feeling you get when you’re about to hang out with someone you’re sweet on? Where there’s anticipation and excitement and a little bit of fear and a whole lot of possibility? That’s what I felt talking about starting food gardens. Heart sparkles! I got heart sparkles talking about growing my own food! I was jittery and giddy thinking about it. I came home and drew up a plan for planting things up at camp, and started thinking about what I want to try and grow in the little plot that Nathan is giving to me out of the garden here. I’m thinking strawberries, kale, cabbage, green onions, snap peas….oh boy. It’s gonna be great. I think I’m in love.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

