Putting Down Roots


actually I’m not on the prowl for a husband, thanks anyways
October 10, 2010, 6:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today, after going to church twice (first at the UCC, which I’m really liking, and then at the Quakers down the road, who were super warm and welcoming and have a big garden out front and want my help taking care of it and expanding it), I was feeling a bit worn out on being around people. Nathan had to exhibit (read: walk around in overalls and talk to folks about vegetables) at a “climate action fair” near a lake, so I went with him and promptly found a shady spot under a tree to sit and not talk to anyone. I was peacefully reading my Bible (the book of Luke, if you’re wondering. The part about the lilies of the field.) when this man pulled up in the parking lot and started talking to me. Since I generally believe that everyone is good and is not going to be creepy, and since friendliness is a quicker-firing instinct in me than wariness, I started chatting with him. He came out of his car and sat on the lawn with me (at this point I was making sure that around me there were lots of folks, just in case I needed some back-up. I didn’t, don’t worry). Mostly had just wanted to talk about Jesus, which is always one of my favorite things to do with strangers.

We talked about a whole bunch of things for almost an hour, and then it was time to go back and meet up with Nathan (we had a garden to plant with a youth group from a Presbyterian church tonight). The man decided that the appropriate way to close would be to tell me that, if he was twenty years younger, he would definitely have tried to marry me. And then he tried to convince me that I should marry Nathan. And then he reassured me that there will be lots of men who will want to marry me. Umm….thanks?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

