Putting Down Roots


in which Lindsay gets wings
November 1, 2010, 10:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today I got to fly all around Tallahassee (OK fine I wasn’t flying, I was biking, but as far as I’m concerned, they’re pretty much the same thing). I never learned how to ride a bike when I was little, because my parents were getting divorced and forgot to teach me until it was Too Late and I was way too ashamed of not knowing such a basic thing to attempt learning it at 9 or 10. Thus, I lied about it until I was 17 or so, when Nathan Aldrich insisted that I let him teach me (the only reason I let him was because I was head-over-heels in love). So, I learned, but only went on a small handful of rides between then and this past summer, when Libby Glenn took me to “learn how to ride a bike in Boston” school, which entailed me being more-or-less forced to follow her on increasingly more terrifying bike rides around the city until, eventually, I had confidence in my ability and wanted to bike everywhere.

 
On our adventure last week, we picked up a hand-me-down bike at WWC, and Xenia very graciously and magically fixed it up while I was watching, and even taught me how to do things with wrenches to make sure the wheels were aligned and the gear shifter worked and other things that were too complicated to understand, and then, I got to have my very own mostly-functional bike.

 
So now, I can go anywhere I want (provided it’s within about 6 miles, and it’s not dark out, and I don’t have to go on really scary roads, and the hills aren’t too big or demoralizing). So, I can go maybe half the places I want. Still. Yesterday, I biked to the church picnic, and today I biked to the library, and both times I felt like a superhero. Even when I spent about half an hor being lost downtown, all I could think was, “well, biking IS the most efficient form of transportation, so even if I’m lost and doubling back up and down big hills, I’m being lost efficiently.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

