Putting Down Roots


mostly, I like eating.
November 3, 2010, 11:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The best thing about farmers isn’t that they know how to grow food, but that they know how to EAT food.

Today I broke in my new overalls at Turkey Hill Farm out northeast of the city, where a lovely couple grows all sorts of delicious vegetables. We did all sorts of enterprising tasks out in the field, but I must tell you, the best part was lunch.

After a morning of hauling compost, pulling weeds (which we then fed to the flock of four dozen chickens), and planting lettuce, Louise served up a ginger-carrot soup (fresh carrots, fresh ginger), a delicious salad (I swear their lettuce tastes like butter) and baked okra. After all of that was done, we tucked in to gingerbread that was made with honey from their hives and more of the ginger (I got to dig it up as my first post-lunch activity. It grows as a big ol’ tuber on the bottom of a tall, frondy plant, and is so much lovelier than what you can find in the store). After that meal, while the rest of us (a small handful of volunteers) dug sweet potatoes and ripped weeds from blackberry canes, Sue laid down on the floor and took a nap, which was really the only appropriate response.

The moral of the story: there are a whole lot of high-and-mighty reasons why I think knowing how to grow my own food is a good idea (it’s healthier, it requires less transportation, there aren’t nasty chemicals involved, it’s cheaper, it’s better for the environment, and–the ever-popular apocalyptic reason–things are going to go downhill real soon and I want to be able to feed myself and my friends), but when it comes down to it, the main reason I want to grow good food is because I want to eat good food. A lot of it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

