Putting Down Roots


some thoughts on joy
September 30, 2011, 7:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m writing to y’all because I think words are important, and because you are the type of folks who understand that. I’m writing to you because you’re people who I’ve shared my words with, people who have encouraged me, people who have listened to me. (And if you’re also the type of person who I haven’t talked to in a while: I miss you. This is my way of saying that you’re still part of my life).

And I’m writing to you because I have too many poems on my computer that nobody else has seen or heard. I’m a writer because I believe poetry can be the prologue to a conversation, and because words have the power to give people courage and make everyone feel less alone and help us all build the sort of world we want to live in. But our words can’t do that if we keep them to ourselves.

Frankly, the poetry publishing industry is frustrating and impersonal and not very inspiring, and I don’t want to wait on white men in an office somewhere to tell me I can get my words out there.

And so, I’m going to start printing my poems out, and cutting and pasting and puzzling them together until they can be copied as a little book, and then I’m going to sew them together, and then I’m going to send them to, well, you. If you want me to. And if you can give me a few dollars.

So here’s what I’m wondering: are you interested? Would you be willing to pay $10 (or $5, or $7.36, or $22,072, depending on what you’ve got) to support my habit as a poet and your habit as a reader? (You can say no, or you can say nothing: it won’t hurt my feelings).

But, if you do like the idea of getting hand-sewn self-published books of poems in your mailbox, let me know. I happen to know someone who could hook you up.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

